Book 6 – An old ‘Dusty’ friend this time.

This week I choose a book that I have  read many times before and has been sitting in my bookcase for a while (with many others by the same author.)

I choose ‘Proof’ by Dick Francis . (269 pages paperback)

Dick Francis

Proof was first published in 1984 and this particular edition was published in 1985 by Pan . It would have been brought brand new and was probably given to me either for my birthday or  in my Christmas stocking.  It was the family joke that I would give my father the latest Dick Francis hardback for his birthday and then the following year I would be given the paperback in return.

 I was introduced to Dick Francis by my father who was extremely ‘horsesy’ – he used to hunt and steeplechase as well as ride point-to-points. He even played polo given half a chance. 

I am not sure how old I was when I read my first Dick Francis book; certainly still a school child.  I have some of his books that have my maiden name and class written in them for when they were taken to school.

Dick Francis’s books were always based within the horsey world in some way. Whether, as in Proof, it was someone connected at the fringes or, as in, Risk where the main character is a jockey in the thick of it.

I choose to read Proof again as I heard a 10 minute clip of a dramatisation on Radio 4 Extra while in the car  a couple of weeks back . Although I immediately recognised the story there seemed to be some inconsistencies in the tale which made  me want to read the original story again.

It was an easy enjoyable read and Dick Francis certainly remains on my list of favourite authors and I have a whole shelf dedicated to his books. I have, I believe, all of Dick Francis’s books but may be missing one or two. I must check and obtain any that are missing. 

My current totals for my Reading Challenges are:

52 Books in 52 Weeks ……. 6 books ……… 46 Left

Read It Again, Sam ……………. 2 book ……….. 14 Left

Dusty Mini Challenge ………… 3 books …………   1 Left to my first award